Tags

, ,

For the last few years I mostly worked on erotic stories. Part of it was to experiment within the genre, to try to write a few novels and to get some short stories under my belt. But I also write novels for general audiences, and after writing primarily erotica for the last few years, it’s amusingly difficult to get my head out of the erotic mindset now that I’m also writing again in other genres.

The kind of mindset where everything is about sex. In gen aud pieces, sex and sexual thoughts can be present, even present often if it fits the character or the situation, but they aren’t as ubiquitous and constantly integrated into the plot as in erotica. People aren’t making innuendos or falling into bed or thinking about falling into bed in every chapter (sometimes more than once).

The kind of mindset where you’re moving through your story and wondering, How do I make this sensual or sexual? or How would sex work with this plot point?

The kind of mindset where you pair your characters like wild hyenas. Almost everyone gets together with at least one other person. If it’s not explicit, it’s implicit.

The kind of mindset where sex has fewer consequences and is always fucking amazing. Actually, there’s some flexibility with this even in gen aud works, I’ve noticed.

Of course, writing both can lead to some anxieties. Like: What if someone finds out? With our simultaneously sex-craved and sex-fearing culture, indulging in some wicked typing (*wink wink nudge nudge* know what I mean? oh, whatever) can, at best, impair your credibility and, at worse, lead people to label you a corrupter.

I continue doing what I do, hoping that I can stay lucky, and if I can’t, hoping that I have the fortitude to face it and defend what I do – and I’m something of a coward. But it isn’t wrong; it isn’t sick; it isn’t unsafe; and it isn’t low. I love it, and it’s beautiful.