Tags

, , ,

989660_54272337barunpatroI’m so sick of words,
I get words all day through,
First from him, now from you.
Is that all you blighters can do?

With many apologies to Lerner and Lowe, that’s how I’m feeling right about now. It’s been years since I did a First Revision, and I’d forgotten how involved and intense it is.

The upside to NaNoWriMo is that you end up writing essential parts that you didn’t even know that you needed. You discover things about your characters, you head in different plot directions, etc. But the downside to the kind of writing you get from NaNo is that you wrote a lot that needs to be cut out as well. I cut almost 13k words out of over 105k. I presently have a word count of 92,903. The editing process took ten days.

It wouldn’t have taken as long if I had edited the first 70 pages right the first time. Around halfway through, I realized I’d forgotten to correct unnecessary passive sentences. So when I reached the end, I had to go right back to the beginning and machete away the rest of it.

Editing is a different animal than writing. That’s kind of obvious, but sometimes your work reminds you just how different. They’re both work, but they’re both fulfilling in different ways.

Next time, I’ll make sure I only have to do one pass before submission.

I plan to write my query letter this weekend. I’m worried about how well Wolf Girl will be received, given that it’s not pure erotic romance (there’s a HEA and a secondary but major romance, but there’s also a lot of darkness going on between the primary couple), and there are elements that might disqualify it from the more respectable erotic romance storefronts.

I have a whole rant about that, but it’s a useless rant, so I’ll just leave it alone for now. I’ll just cross my fingers and hope the last ten days weren’t a waste of time.

If I can’t find anywhere reputable that publishes plain erotica (and I haven’t yet), I guess I’ll just have to self-publish it. I think I can manage that, with enough research. We’ll see.

Right now, Miss Aurelia is very tired of editing (which is why the My Fair Lady song keeps playing in my head) and tired of Wolf Girl, as filthy hot as the sex is in it. So I’ll be glad to set it aside for a while after I write the query and synopsis. I’m looking forward to a little break.

With a headache growing and feeling a bit stopped up, I’m really hoping I haven’t got the flu. I’ve been staying up late editing and not getting as much sleep as I need, which of course just makes you more vulnerable to illness. Too much caffeine and clenched teeth. And how often do you actually root that it’s allergies, because at least you wouldn’t have the flu?