Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Title: ARCANIUM

Word count: 41,285/125,000

Summary: After her boyfriend’s foolish wish in a jealous rage, Maya DeLuca finds herself trapped in a traveling demonic circus at the mercy of a devious jinni, Bell Madoc.

Among the voluntary human oddities and the demons masquerading as humans, Maya joins the other tortured souls in the circus, caught in a perpetual purgatory under the weight of their wishes.

It’s up to them to make the best of a cursed situation.

Notes:

If you are exceptionally observant, you’ll have noticed that my expected word count has jumped considerably since a few days ago. Forty-five thousand words jumped. This was not in the plan and in fact throws off my intended schedule for the year, and it makes me wish I had done STONE AND CHAIN first instead of ARCANIUM, because at least S&C promises to be as regular-sized as I intended. ARCANIUM, on the other hand, has decided to become another monster, because I seem to be incapable of writing something uncomplicated that can be resolved under 90k words.

It’s mostly frustrating because, if I plunge ahead and finish at 55k by the end of the weekend, I have a little over four weeks to write about 70k words, when I usually write 60k in a month. It doesn’t seem like a lot, but that projection only works if my chapters and short stories average out the way I anticipated. And how often do my numbers work out the way I anticipated? FORCES OF NATURE was about the only story I’ve written that went smoothly, not counting the extra ten thousand words I had to add later.

I’m not mad at the story for being longer than I thought. I’ll give it however long it takes. It’s just that NaNoWriMo is coming up, and there’s not a lot of flexibility with NaNo. I’m pretty sure I’m going to have to overlap the first week or so with this novel and my NaNo novel, and I DO NOT LIKE doing that. Or skipping a month and returning to an old story. I don’t work well that way, as I reiterated to myself with FORCES OF NATURE additions.

So, the aim for October is to write a lot and not go crazy. Sounds simple, right?

As far as the story goes, I’m finally getting into scenes that have been hanging around in my head for a long time, and I’m looking forward to writing them, even the darkest scenes. Oh, and I wrote my first short story with demonic characters from the Arcanium cast. Yay!

Of course, the major irony with all my struggling to finish this and get it shop ready for edits in 2014 and submission is that I’m pretty sure now that ARCANIUM is way too dark for TEB, in spite of the fact that there are no consent issues like WOLF GIRL. All that means that I’m struggling to reach a deadline that only means anything to me, which means it’s completely arbitrary … but I gotta do it. It’s my schedule, and a girl can dream.