Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1232950_28690356Title: ARCANIUM

Word count: 55,026/125,000

Summary: After her boyfriend’s foolish wish in a jealous rage, Maya DeLuca finds herself trapped in a traveling demonic circus at the mercy of a devious jinni, Bell Madoc.

Among the voluntary human oddities and the demons masquerading as humans, Maya joins the other tortured souls in the circus, caught in a perpetual purgatory under the weight of their wishes.

It’s up to them to make the best of a cursed situation. (working summary)

Notes:

When I looked at the word count difference between the last post and this post, my heart sank. 14k words didn’t seem like that big of a jump for the amount of effort I put in…until I realized the last post was just three days ago, and I wrote 4k Friday, 5k Saturday, and 6k Sunday. Over the week, I wrote about 24k words, and that’s seriously impressive for me. Crossing the 55k line last night felt seriously good, even if I’m tired, my hands hurt, and I have to ween myself off coffee again. I notice I have to do that a lot.

Things are going to go mostly back to normal during the week. I’ll bring up my  weekday word counts to 3k if I can, and I think I’ll be able to, but 2k would also be acceptable, because Fridays-Sunday will be 4k per day (when I’ll have some coffee allowances), and that should bring me to at least 20k per week. Here’s hoping that gets me through ARCANIUM before the end of the month.

I’m finally starting to reach the scenes that have been in my head ever since the demonic circus idea first surfaced, so it’s a lot more exciting to write. And a lot more confusing, because damn if I can’t make amorality sound perfectly reasonable. This is probably the reason why I’m an involuntary nihilist.

Give me a few more chapters and shorts, and then the shit will really hit the fan. And then my stomach will get all twisty because I know that’s when the darkness really rises, and I’ll be moaning and wailing about how this is never going to sell. But will I stop? No. Because I’m a masochist that way.

I can always self-publish. That’s what I tell myself, and it’s what gives me confidence. Publishing companies and agencies are no longer the gatekeepers, and I can hold with my personal integrity by not changing things that I think are essential to the story. I don’t fault them for asking me to change things, and sometimes I do, if it doesn’t hurt the spirit of the story. After all, they have principles, too, and there’s no point putting in the work on something that won’t sell well in their market. But authors also have more confidence saying no and knowing they have other options. Authors can walk away if they need to. I think that’s pretty liberating.

Of course, self-publishing is not at the top of my preference list. But at least it’s an option.