Tags

, , , , , , ,

1232950_28690356Title: ARCANIUM

Word count: 73,085/125,000

Summary: After her boyfriend’s foolish wish in a jealous rage, Maya DeLuca finds herself trapped in a traveling demonic circus at the mercy of a devious jinni, Bell Madoc.

Among the voluntary human oddities and the demons masquerading as humans, Maya joins the other tortured souls in the circus, caught in a perpetual purgatory under the weight of their wishes.

It’s up to them to make the best of a cursed situation. (working summary)

Notes:

I’m over halfway through, if the pattern holds, although the last two chapters have been longer than average. The last short story was shorter than the rest, but not enough to act as a counterweight. If this story goes over 125k in the first draft, we’re going to have problems just with the length, not even getting into content. I’d think it would be intimidating for new erotica readers (erotica readers new to me, not readers new to erotica, although they, too, I guess). That was why I wanted to write a shorter novel in the first place, go figure.

I’ve noticed that I tend to be more exhausted after a day of writing the sex scenes. I think it has to do with the multiple roles I have to play when writing them. You’ve got the regular writer, trying to move the plot and character growth forward and do all the normal maintenance that comes from writing a narrative. Then you’ve got the sex writer, trying to make the sex as hot as possible, which requires pacing, proper word choices, being careful of too much repetition too soon, choreography, feelings, etc. Basically, you’re juggling these roles while trying to make a good scene.

The weather’s been so nice that I’ve written outside this weekend while I try to accommodate my larger word counts. Friday was nice and warm and sunny. Saturday was nice and cool and cloudy, the first real nip of autumn followed by thunderstorms. All in all, in spite of some gloominess and grumpiness on my part, it’s been an exceptional weekend.

The plot is moving forward apace (even though it feels like I’m no closer to the end) and is going to get dark again really soon. I’m in that chapter now and will probably step into the shallows before plunging into the deep end later this afternoon. It’s hard to believe that I’ll have written over 80k in a month’s time once Oct. 9 arrives. That’s a lot for me. But I also know that I can do it if I absolutely have to. It’s tiring, but it’s also very satisfying knowing that.

I’m writing standard bloody horror fare at the moment, but I’m beginning to get a taste for an atmospheric, gothic ghost mystery. If I can come up with a decent plot, it should be interesting. And far in my writing future. Too many things on my list. :)