Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

1232950_28690356Title: ARCANIUM

Word count: 104,054/125,000

Summary: After her boyfriend’s foolish wish in a jealous rage, Maya DeLuca finds herself trapped in a traveling demonic circus at the mercy of a devious jinni, Bell Madoc.

Among the voluntary human oddities and the demons masquerading as humans, Maya joins the other tortured souls in the circus, caught in a perpetual purgatory under the weight of their wishes.

It’s up to them to make the best of a cursed situation. (working summary)

Notes:

I thought I’d only skipped one update, and no, turns out I skipped two. My bad. It’s been a little over a week and I’ve jumped over the 100k-word mark. I’m a little scared by my speed, which is far faster than I’ve written in the past, but energized and even empowered at the same time now that I know I can do it if I want to.

Y’all, I’ve written over a hundred thousand words in a little over a month’s time. That’s absolutely insane. If things go according to plan, I might finish by the end of this weekend. I’ll probably end up going a little over plan, but still, I’ll definitely finish before November.

At this point, the end’s in sight, and you know how sometimes you think the end’s never coming. You know, when you’re an erotica writer, you can never use the word “coming” without thinking of the euphemism. It’s my burden to bear. I have the rest of this chapter, one more big chapter, and then one smaller chapter, plus two short stories.

A few thoughts.

Here I was writing a circus/carnival story, and I completely forgot to add a carousel! How can I write a creepy circus/carnival without a creepy carousel? As soon as I realized the oversight, I rectified the mistake right away. Now, Arcanium Circus is, as mentioned, a circus with a circus cast and circus acts inside the main big top tent, but they have booths and games and exhibits outside the central circus that qualify them as a carnival as well. So, technically they’re both. I imagine a lot of traveling circuses are.

ARCANIUM is very sex-heavy, kind of like FORCES OF NATURE except in no way like FORCES OF NATURE. However, in both stories there’s a lot of sex that does serve a function, honestly. It’s entirely organic from the plot and the character’s motivations and desires, but as I mentioned in the last update, so many sex scenes are exhausting, especially with all the emotional baggage that accompanies them in this particular novel.

I’ll be glad when I can take a break, and I anticipate that STONE AND CHAINS, which I’ll begin sometime in December, won’t be quite as intensely sexual, incubus or not – that tells you how carnal ARCANIUM is if an incubus won’t be able to keep up.

I came up with a legitimate reason to write the phrase “dong of doom.” I’m very proud of this.

Also, I think Maya’s something bitingly sarcastic voice is exacerbating my tendency to verb nouns. It’s a sickness. However, my metaphor-finding skills have improved, and I sometimes happen across a metaphor with which I develop an infatuation. I hope they work for people other than me.

In other news, I’m about ready to put a sledgehammer to my computer. It has given me nothing but grief the last year I’ve had it. I may not make it another year, which is when I’ll allow myself to get another. From a sucky wi-fi card to keyboard problems and no keyboard backlighting, which is helpful when I’m writing in the evenings, going with HP instead of Dell has just been a nightmare. Just writing this post, my Internet connection has gone in and out over a dozen times. Nothing seems to affect when I’m going to have a decent connection day. I’m at the mercy of the wi-fi gods.