Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

1232950_28690356Title: ARCANIUM

Word count: 121,059/135,000

Summary: After her boyfriend’s foolish wish in a jealous rage, Maya DeLuca finds herself trapped in a traveling demonic circus at the mercy of a devious jinni, Bell Madoc.

Among the voluntary human oddities and the demons masquerading as humans, Maya joins the other tortured souls in the circus, caught in a perpetual purgatory under the weight of their wishes.

It’s up to them to make the best of a cursed situation. (working summary)

Notes:

Well, I upped my final word count again, and it may even go higher. I’m telling you, this novel’s a beast. The word count is kind of deceptive, though, because there are all the short stories add to it. Once I’m finished, I’ll figure out how much of it is the story proper and how much is “Behind the Curtain” scenes.

As of today, I have one large chapter to write, one of the pretty epic sex scenes that’s been in my head since the beginning. I also have one very important short story to write that I deliberately saved for last, then the concluding chapter. It’s almost done, y’all. It’s so close, and endings always freak me out. I mean, I know I’m not done with the work, since there are edits on my part and the potential edits of whoever takes my story, but the main creative work will be over. The monster will have been birthed after under two months of labor. Finishing changes things.

As far as what I’ve written, the last chapter kind of…escalated on the violence and gore. Let’s just say it’s a good thing this is a novel and not a movie. I could probably make it worse, and I may still, but it just reminds me again that this thing might be way too dark for my usual company…or any company, no consent issues or not. Which makes me sad, because I’m really thinking this is a good story. But I thought that about other stories, too. I’m still crossing my fingers, and I won’t even know for a while, since I have to set it aside and let it age before I take my first editorial taste.

But suffice it to say, the darkest parts of the story has passed, and while it’s impossible to completely walk away from the darkness when you’ve got a circus full of demons, you can at least have sparkling carnival lights.

Also, in case anyone was wondering, the reason I have a lamp to represent my novel is because it was the most circus-y stock photo I had. :)