Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

1129485_79167924byilcoTitle: Aerial

Series: Arcanium

Summary: Seth and Lars are drawn into the world of Arcanium after Seth makes a throwaway wish in front of the circus fortune teller, who decides Arcanium needs a little something extra in the ring. Seth and Lars are torn from their lives of intermural soccer, on-campus parties, and bright futures. Instead, Bell curses the two men to never separate, forced to remain in constant contact at all times.

Now they perform incredibly skilled and beautiful aerial acts for the circus, but these two otherwise straight men must also adjust to always touching – how to sleep together in the same small bed, how they never have any privacy, and how the curse alters the way they express and experience desire for others, like their choreographer and the Arcanium contortionist Valorie as well as conjoined twins Joanne and Jane.

And – to their chagrin and confusion – themselves.

Word count: 50,162/110,000

Notes:

I’ve slowed down a bit since the last progress report, mostly from a combination of nodding off at night due to allergies and possibly medication messing with my sleep and the fact that the pain and discomfort are usually worse in the evenings. So sometimes I just have to put the computer down, lay on my back, and watch TV or a movie until I can’t stay up anymore. There’s just no getting around it.

However, I’m still meeting my minimum of 3k words a day (5k is my goal) and still hoping to reach 100k before the end of the month. The next two weekends should be quiet, which will help.

Seth and Lars are having some absolutely wonderful angst surrounding the questioning of their sexualities. Since they’re emphatically straight-identified men, that means that 1) they don’t talk about it with each other more than they have to, and 2) they don’t acknowledge the existence of a sexuality spectrum. There’s a lot of binary narration, even though I want to throw a Kinsey scale at them.

But Seth’s angst is delicious to write, since he’s the more bisexual of the two and didn’t know it until now. I still go through a lot of my own, ambiguously oriented as I am and raised in a conservative Christian environment, but I’m a bit removed from it lately, so it doesn’t hit too close to home to write it. What was it that Wordsworth said about writing poetry? Paraphrased: To write of passion when you’ve calmed down.

Also, I find that I tend to write emotional turmoil when I’m experiencing physical discomfort and go all out on the physical torture when I’m emotionally compromised.

I did that thing I do now when I’m about halfway through a novel and wrote a list of what scenes come next, which I do in order to cross them out as I leave each scene in the dust. And it helps me know where I’m going if I’m having trouble figuring that out. At around the halfway point, you usually want to know where you’re going. Also, it’s satisfying to see more and more things struck through on that list. If I average 5k words for every scene on that list (a scene is not necessarily a chapter, which tend to be longer than that), that’s at least 40k more words I need to write. Aerial may make it under 100k, which isn’t bad.