Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

853190_97444239bymapeicTitle: Fever & Fray

Series: Meridian

Word count: 50,376/100,000

Summary: Nova Mendez doesn’t understand what is happening. She’s always been popular with boys, but things are starting to get out of control.

Then a black-winged man calling himself Jules swoops in only to tell her that no matter how good she’s tried to be, she’s a succubus on the cusp of her transformation. There’s nothing she can do but hang on for the ride as her desires climb to unimaginable heights.

As an incubus himself, Jules is uniquely qualified to handle the strongest of her emerging power, harness it, and teach her how to use it to feed on the energy of sleeping men who desire her. She tries not to kill them, but accidents are bound to happen to a new succubus.

The trouble with dead bodies, especially when they start to accumulate, is that they start to get the attention of the wrong element–namely the kind that troll the mystical city of Meridian to hunt her kind down. And now Eli Fray, the rugged and relentless demon hunter, is on her trail.

Notes:

I’m halfway through and really torn on this story. I think it definitely has elements of erotic romance, but I fear that there are too many dark erotica elements that will make it harder to take, even with the flexibility that I’ve been given by writing in the horror co-genre.

A certain amount of sex and death is expected when dealing with a main character who’s learning how to be a succubus. But I’m in the middle of a scene that I fear will have to be curtained, even though I have feelings about curtaining uncomfortable scenes. It’s a scene that can be curtained, though. My emotions are mixed on the subject, but I have to write the scene before I can take it away, and I feel the scene is important for Nova’s growth as a succubus, but it’s absolutely not romance in any way possible.

I’m wondering whether Fever & Fray should even be included in the Meridian series because of its darker roots. On the other hand, Meridian will have its dark moments, just like Arcanium. Maybe I’ll just have a corner on the erotic horror romance section of Totally Bound, if they still want to take a chance on me if Arcanium doesn’t do so hot.

I just don’t know, y’all. I don’t know what other people want, and even if I did, I can’t write what other people want very well. All I’ve got are the stories inside me, and they seem to get darker and darker all the time, especially when sex is involved. It’s not erotic romance but it’s not dark erotica, and I’m just not sure where to put it or who to market it to, which I think is my publisher’s dilemma with me as well.

Suffice it to say, confidence in my subject matter and my abilities has floundered, but that doesn’t make a dent on whether I write or not, just how I feel when I do. I don’t seem to have a choice in either matter.

Also, just when I think I know how long this story is going to be, it takes another turn and I think it’s going to be just as long as Stone & Chains. My fault for writing another love triangle with demonic plot. I said this on my Facebook personal page, but if I think too much about how many stories I have to write for the Arcanium and Meridian series – twenty long novels – I go a little crazy. I have to take care of myself, prevent burn out, not get down on myself if I’m not as productive as I’d like. I still got 25k in this week, which is pretty darn good, even if I wanted more. I’ve written five full novels for these series. Fifteen more to go.

As far as next month goes, I’ve decided to switch out Contortion, originally scheduled for December, with Call for Blood, originally scheduled for November to keep to the trend of writing Sanctuary for National Novel Writing Month. I’ve been battling with logic issues with the original concept in Call for Blood for a while now, and I finally decided to scrap it and find something new, recycling a few scenes with the new concept.

Since I have a good idea of how Contortion is going to go, with a decent synopsis for it already written for the Arcanium series synopses, I thought it would be the better story for NaNoWriMo. I need more time to figure out how Call for Blood will change. I have some tentatively better plans for it, but breathing room is good. It doesn’t really matter in the long run which goes first, since they’ll all be edited in January and February. In fact, since Contortion will probably be edited first, it’s better to have more time between it and the edit. So this will work out nicely.

I probably won’t finish Fever & Fray before November 1, but that’s all right. My goal is to finish Contortion by the end of November anyway. Reaching 50k words isn’t my big challenge, as you can see from how not-long it took me to reach it for Fever & Fray. At the very least, though, I’d like to be finished with Fever & Fray by November 4. We’ll see how that goes.