Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

853190_97444239bymapeicTitle: Fever & Fray

Series: Meridian

Word count: 80,012/100,000

Summary: Nova Mendez doesn’t understand what is happening. She’s always been popular with boys, but things are starting to get out of control.

Then a black-winged man calling himself Jules swoops in only to tell her that no matter how good she’s tried to be, she’s a succubus on the cusp of her transformation. There’s nothing she can do but hang on for the ride as her desires climb to unimaginable heights.

As an incubus himself, Jules is uniquely qualified to handle the strongest of her emerging power, harness it, and teach her how to use it to feed on the energy of sleeping men who desire her. She tries not to kill them, but accidents are bound to happen to a new succubus.

The trouble with dead bodies, especially when they start to accumulate, is that they start to get the attention of the wrong element–namely the kind that troll the mystical city of Meridian to hunt her kind down. And now Eli Fray, the rugged and relentless demon hunter, is on her trail.

Notes:

So I checked, and Stone & Chains was completed in forty days. In spite of my general frustration with how I’m not writing as much as I want every day, I’m thinking that at this pace I’ll still finish in fewer days than Meridian Book 1.

Even so, it’s the fourth day of NaNoWriMo, and I haven’t actually started on my November novel. Judging from where I am in Fever & Fray, I might not even get to it until this weekend since Fever & Fray looks like it’s going to be about as long as Stone & Chains. Meaning that the word count goal up there is probably going to be close. Or I’ll go over by another 10k. I guess that’s what happens when you have a proper love triangle in which both options are viable. You have to give each of them their due course.

Where I am in the story, I have an act and a half to finish. I’m tired, flirting with a sinus infection, some other issues (not as bad as this summer), burning the candle from both ends to keep up with the schedule I’ve set for myself. I keep telling myself that if I can just catch up, I’ll be able to take some time. But I suspect I’m not going to be able to relax until the year is over and I land into the realm of editing. Granted, that’s not very relaxing, but I can drink an ale now and then instead of subsisting on my dependence on coffee to ensure I’m normal for about three hours in the afternoon (and sometimes anxious in the evening because of it).

Even so, it’s funny. I’m worn ragged, but does that stop me? Do I even think to myself, slow down, take a week off, scrap one novel from this year? Nope. In spite of the weariness and the illness, I’m still pushing myself and still enjoying the stories themselves and the writing process through the headaches. Perhaps, like the caffeine, I’m also so dependent on writing that I’ll stress my system to keep up with what I need to be doing. This isn’t necessarily healthy, I know, just like the caffeine. I try to take care of myself, I really do. Hopefully, I can get through this month relatively unscathed for my efforts.

In regard to the story itself, a few minor characters that I came up with on the spot have become significant supporting characters. That’s always fun. And I’ve written so much sex over the weekend that it was a pleasure to sink back into plot. I like writing sex, I really do. It’s just exhausting after writing it back to back for four or five days straight. Lots of sex is part and partial to writing about incubi and succubi, though. Stone & Chains, which only had the one incubus, had twelve even though my usual is closer to eight or nine. I haven’t counted the ones in Fever & Fray so far, but it feels like an awful lot.

Here’s hoping that by the end of the week, I’ll have finished Fever & Fray for good. It’s still all counting toward my NaNoWriMo word count, though. All new words written toward a novel are counted. I’m just interested in seeing how much I can write this month, and I didn’t want to have to wait on starting Contortion to put in my word count. I like their stats page.