Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

481044_91291738malamuteTitle: Call for Blood

Series: Sanctuary

Word Count: 26,027/80,000 words

Summary: I’ll come up with something later. Both Arcanium and Meridian already had series synopses written up before I started them, but I changed Call for Blood from what I’d originally set it up to be.

Notes:

There’s something about this one, and not in a good way.

I get the feeling I might have to rewrite it entirely. The characterization feels good, but the plot threads feel loose, and I suspect I’m burnt out and in denial about it. But I feel like I have to get this first draft written, even if I have to overhaul it all over again like I did the first plot. I’ve taken days off. I’ve vegged. I’ve not thought about writing until I reached the point where I needed to write again. But the plot still feels insecure. It’s taken me far longer than it should have to reach my first quarter, and I’m not happy on many levels. I’m just not sure what to change, because Sanctuary needs finishing.

The words are coming. That’s what’s confusing. Is it that I’m just on autopilot now, cranking things out without any soul? Or am I just in a seasonal-affective state that’s getting in the way of my seeing the novel in a more objective light? Or perhaps that plus Christmas and end-of-year stress is finally getting to me. I’m hoping that’s all it is. If so, that’s a lot less work for me later.

Seriously, we haven’t had sunlight around here since Day 1 of writing this novel. It’s been clouds and rain and no Vitamin D except in supplements. It’s done terrible things to my sleep schedule.

One thing I do like is that I can write all the femmeslash that I want in this. It’s not the most popular kind of pairing, but Renee’s relationship with Britt and her propensity for further sexual attraction with women is already an established part of the Sanctuary canon. So I can get some of it out of my system before diving back into Hetsville. Nocturnal Creatures, of course, will be full femmeslash rather than bifemmeslash, but that one won’t be for a while.

There’s also plenty of wonderful polyamory in my little hippie commune sanctuary, but I write a lot of multiple partner romances, so that’s not quite as uncommon for me. I still love it.

Sinking back into Renee was easier than I’d expected it to me, but again, not in a good way. Many of Renee’s qualities are the ones that I try to pretend don’t exist in me, but I have to confront them again when I write her, view them through an unforgiving magnifying glass.

I just hope I can get my hands on the slippery rope of this plot, or else this whole stressful time would have been an exercise in futility mixed with baking powder,  chocolate chips, and too much eggnog.

I’ve made lots of cookies, in case you can’t tell.